Click Here for EthioPolitics NEWS

New! EthioPolitics presents "ARTIST OF THE DAY"
where we feature artists from all over the world who have
contributed significantly to the world of music.

Friday, September 08, 2006

Breaking News: Professor Mesfin Nominated for the Prestigious SAKHAROV PRIZE!

Today’s News following this story...

Just after winning the Heinz R. Pagels Award (read below), prof. Mesfin has been nominated for the Prestigious SAKHAROV PRIZE!

We are very pleased to announce that Professor Mesfin Wolde Mariam is among the 10 nominees for the European Parliament's 2006 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, which is named after Professor Andrei Sakharov, the Russian Nuclear Scientist and advocate of world peace. Incidentally, Prof. Mesfin is also this year's winner of the New York Academy of Science's award for human rights, whose first recipient happened to be Professor Andrei Sakharov. Established in 1985, the Sakharov prize is awarded annually for a particular achievement in the field of human rights, international law, and the promotion of democracy and the rule of law.(More...)

Previous winners of the sakharov prize include; 1988 Nelson Mandela, 1990 Aung San Suu Kyi . Both went on to win the Nobel peace Prize.